Liebster Award!

I’ve been nominated for the Liebster award recently by Briana and Kyle and also Hannah and Jessie. Sorry for the delayed response to my nomination, I’ve just got back from a full-on three week intensive French course in Pays de la Loire, which was beautiful and hectic and all things great!

Thank you to both of you who nominated me. Everyone should check out their blogs, they’re both incredible writers and storytellers and take spectacular colourful photos. I also love both their instagram accounts: follow, follow, follow!

The rules of the Liebster are as follows: 

  • Thank the blog which nominated you and recognise their blog.
  • Answer their questions.
  • List the rules in your post.
  • Display the award somewhere on your post/blog.
  • Write 10 random facts about yourself
  • Nominate 5-11 blogs and inform them of their nomination.
  • Provide 11 questions for these bloggers.

The questions that Jessie asked: 

  • Why did you start writing your blog?

I started writing my blog in April this year after returning from Lanzarote with a phone full of pictures and a desperation to tell everyone what I’d learnt and seen on my travels. I’ve always had a desire to create and a travel blog seemed like the perfect outlet, combining all my passions at once.

  • What is the best food item / dish you have tried abroad, and where was it?

Sadly I’m not much of a foodie… (don’t judge me) so I usually stick to what I know when I’m abroad, lots of pasta, lots of cheese. That being said, my favourite dish abroad has probably been the seafood paella I had in Lanzarote this March, it was absolutely divine.

  • If you had to choose one country (aside from your own) to move to permanently, which would you choose?

Obviously, being confined to one country would be horrible for me, like most travellers. But if I had to choose it’d probably be France. I love everything French; the language, the food, the history; architecture, culture, landscape. There’s also a lot of variance across the country in terms of climate and landscape so I wouldn’t feel too trapped.

  • What has been your favourite travel experience so far?

My favourite travel experience was travelling through Budapest, Paris and Amsterdam with my best friends Lyd and Cloé, mainly because it was my first time tasting proper freedom.

  • Can you speak any foreign languages?

I am currently in the process of learning French. I’ve been learning since I was literally three years old and I’m pretty confident at it but a little shaky at times. Living in Lyon next year will hopefully lend me a few more steps towards fluency- fingers crossed!

  • What is your preferred way to travel? (Bike / train / plane / walking, etc)

If it was possible to walk absolutely everywhere in the world, I’d definitely stick to walking my life away- I love the freedom it gives to go at your own pace and in your own direction. When on a bike you’re anchored to something cumbersome and valuable at all times, it’s difficult to go off on a whim and climb a tree or explore a craggy cove whenever it takes your fancy. Obviously transport is necessary in order to get places fast though.

  • What job do you do now / what do you want to do in the future?

I don’t have a job now but my dream is to be a freelance writer, blogger and photographer on the road so I can explore the world without a limit. If I had to choose a permanent and static job, I’d maybe choose to be a lecturer because I like learning and it seems like you get a lot of freedom to pursue your own interests and research.

  • Where is your favourite place to be?

Anywhere new and beautiful…

  • Do you like reading? If so, talk a bit about a book you’ve enjoyed

I’m a literature student so of course I love to read! My favourite book is probably Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov because the writing style is colourful and eclectic and kaleidoscopic. It’s truly a puzzle, I’ve read it about three times and I’m still noticing clever little symbols and meanings that had never previously crossed my mind.

  • What’s your favourite animal?

Dogs… I like the way they are so unapologetically happy and eager to love. I think we could learn a lot from dogs by trying to stop fearing emotion.

  • List three things on your bucket list
  1. Do a long camping trip on horse-back.
  2. Write a fictional book.
  3. Create a shelter for homeless dogs.

10 facts about me

  1. I have a doberman called Indie.
  2. I have an obsession with brie. Whilst I was in France for three weeks, it was stupidly cheap and stupidly good… I ate about 7 blocks in total.
  3. I’m really small.
  4. I can’t cook to save my life. Well, I can but it usually results in something burning or all over the floor/walls.
  5. I’ve had a big, fat full fringe since I was 12. Legend has it that I actually don’t have a forehead.
  6. I’m the oldest of 10 cousins including a crazy set of twins and christmas is pretty hectic.
  7. I still can’t sleep without my cuddle blanket……….
  8. I’ve been writing stories ever since I could write. My first one was about ‘Blacky the cat’ who lived in the jungle. It was a pretty tense plot if I remember rightly.
  9. I used to pretend to be Indiana Jones as a kid (10 points for who guesses who my dog was named after).
  10. I’ve been to 4 Jack White concerts.

Questions for my nominees: 

  1. Where was the first holiday you went on?
  2. Who is your favourite musical artist?
  3. Do you like your hometown? Why?
  4. Why did you start blogging?
  5. What is one thing you can’t live without?
  6. Who would you take with you if you were stranded on a desert island?
  7. What do you do on a rainy day?
  8. What annoys you the most?
  9. Where are you planning to travel next?
  10. Where would you choose to retire in the world?
  11. What’s your favourite hobby?

My nominees: 

Him Her Adventure 

An Outcast Wayfarer

Lizzie Mack Travel

It’s Me Dammy 

The Confessions of a Wanderer 

Factor30ish

Passport Free

Tiny Wee Panda

Natalyadrian

I love all these blogs for their travel stories and photographs! Make sure you check them out if you have time.

Thanks again for nominating me guys! And sorry again to Briana and Kyle for losing track of your nominating me!

Much love ❤

 

 

14 thoughts on “Liebster Award!

  1. Congrats on the Liebster Award! It’s so great that you studied in Pays de la Loire; were you in Nantes, by any chance? I’m excited that you’ll be living in Lyon this coming year, and I look forward to hearing more of your adventures while there. Take care. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

